The Andrew levitt academic resident of the year

During Dr. Levitt’s illustrious days as the Research Director, Highland’s EM program developed an international reputation as a source of reliable, practice-changing research in emergency medicine.  Highland helped usher in the era of professional EM, generating specialty-specific findings and practice standards. In recognition of this contribution, in 2007, the Levitt family joined with the Department of Emergency Medicine at Highland to bestow an annual award to the Highland EM resident with the greatest accomplishments in research.  

To be eligible for the award, a resident must have submitted for publication as first author of an original paper. Beyond this minimum – an extremely high bar in itself – the resident must demonstrate contributions to the research program in general, through participation in our monthly Research in Progress meetings, providing help and counsel to others engaged in research, and by the active use of up-to-date published findings at the bedside.

2018 Recipient:


Eben Clattenburg, MD, MPH, has been an attending emergency medicine physician at Tuba City Regional Health Care Corporation since 2018. He completed his emergency medicine residency at Alameda Health System—Highland Hospital in Oakland, CA. He received his medical degree from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and his Master’s in Public Health from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He graduated from Dartmouth College with a degree in Art History.

As a resident at Highland Hospital, Eben’s was interested in improving how ultrasound was used in the resuscitation of patients with cardiac arrest and investigating non-opioid analgesics for patients with acute pain. With his collaborators and mentors, they found that ultrasound use during cardiac arrest resuscitations was associated with prolonged CPR pauses. They developed and implemented the Cardiac Arrest Sonographic Assessment (CASA) protocol and subsequently found that introduction of the CASA protocol was associated with decreased CPR pulse check duration. In another study, Eben found that intravenous lidocaine provided similar but not superior analgesia compared to intravenous morphine for patients with acute pain. He also explored how to reduce side effects from low-dose-ketamine and found that patients receiving a 10 minute infusion experienced fewer side effects than those receiving the same medication over 1 minute.

Previous Winners:

2017: Tarak Trivedi, MD Currently fellow at RAND-UCLA’s National Clinician Scholars program, focusing on behavioral emergencies.

2016: Lia Losonczy, MD, MPH Currently Fellow in Critical Care  at Maryland Shock Trauma

2015: Terry Ahern, MD Currently staff physician at Rogue Regional Medical Center, Medford, OR


Erik Anderson, MD Currently staff physician at Northern Navajo Medical Center, Shiprock, NM; former Fellow in Social Emergency Medicine at Stanford University

2014: Brian Johnston, MD, MPH Currently staff physician at Valley Medical Center, Renton, WA; former        Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2013: Oron Frenkel, MD, MS Currently on faculty at University of British Columbia; former Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2012: Matthew Rehrer, MD  Currently staff physician at Kaiser Oakland

2011: Andrew Herring, MD  Currently on faculty at Highland Emergency: former Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2010: Jonathan Rosenson, MD   Currently staff physician at Kaiser Oakland

2009: Brita Zaia, MD  Currently staff physician at Kaiser San Francisco

2008: Samantha Honner, MD Currently staff physician at Alta Bates/Summit Medical Center

2007: Nate Teismann, MD  Currently on faculty at University of California, San Francisco; former        Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital